Public Relations and Event Planning

Wow.  That’s all I can say right now.  I know that event planning is a ton of work, I’ve helped in various classes and with organizations I’m involved in.  I have a new appreciation for those that run events.  I’m co-running an event for my PR Campaigns class and I had no idea it was this much work!  For those of you in event planning, what got you interested in doing this?  It’s definitely interesting, as everything is always changing, but it is definitely stressful.

I’m still connecting the dots between public relations and event planning, but I can see where they can coexist and how they can help each other.  I can definitely tell you adults still act like kids, so working with kids for so long has been a HUGE help in dealing with adults today.  Guerrilla marketing may be a calling for me, that’s for sure.  I’ve had a blast coming up with innovative ideas on how to spread the name of an organization in a new and fun way.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a blast doing it.  I just had no idea what the people at the top did!  I also learned very quickly to work from the end backward.  We had to plan everything for the “day of” the event and then have to work backward in getting everything from everyone and get it sent to where we need it.  This includes the smallest things like napkins for food and signs for parking and directions.  I’m not sure if I’ll be pushing to go into event planning in the future, but who knows.

Working with and meeting all types of personalities is a trip.  I’ve had some very angry people, who I’ve been able to calm down, and some people who are just “yes” people and don’t come through with what they promised they would do.  I’m beginning to understand why some people can get stressed out from all of this, however, so far I’ve been successful in controlling the job and not letting the job control me (so far.)  They gym definitely helps (ha ha.)

I’m definitely up for suggestions on ways to keep things in order and get info sent out to who it matters in a timely manner, please share.

Author: Travis Davidson

Growing up in Gainesville, FL around the timber investment and forestry industry, Travis Davidson understands the agricultural community along with the commitment and hard work it takes for a family business to be successful. Travis also understands the residential market in the North Central Florida area. As a graduate of the University of North Florida (UNF) in Jacksonville, Travis has a Bachelor of Science degree in Communications, with a focus in public relations and marketing. Throughout his years at UNF, Travis was an active member of the Public Relations Student Society of America and represented UNF at a Public Relations Society of America conference in Atlanta, GA.  Travis joined his family's businesses shortly after graduation. Travis is currently a Realtor, land manager and forestry operations supervisor, across North Florida, for United Country | Land & Lifestyle Properties and Columbia Timber Company. His father, Jib Davidson, is a Certified Forester and the experiences Travis has learned in land and forestry management has led him to improve several timber investment properties into productive projects for landowners. His experience has also helped many properties attract native vegetation and wildlife to residential, agricultural and natural properties alike. Travis is a member of the Gainesville-Alachua County Association of Realtors, Gainesville Chamber of Commerce and Florida Forestry Association where he earned the Master Logger designation. Travis is also an active communications committee member for the Florida Forestry Association.  Travis earned his rank of Eagle Scout while in the Boy Scouts of America and has become an avid outdoor enthusiast. Travis enjoys hiking, camping and spending time around a campfire with friends and family. His experiences in timber investments and real estate have built Travis' knowledge base and passion for agriculture and the outdoors that continue to grow more each day.

Leave a Reply

