Public Relations Writing Class

I’m finally getting into the “real” college classes.  The last year of college.  It took me some time to get here, but I had fun.  I’m in my public relations writing class for the first part of my summer semester at UNF.  All of the advertising and marketing classes were fun, but I can finally buckle down and take my required courses.  Public Relations Writing…doesn’t sound all that bad does it?  If you said “no Travis, it doesn’t sound all that bad”  you’d be completely wrong.

I’m creating a press release for Visit Jacksonville, something that will help bring more visitors to the city.  My teacher even mentioned promoting a “staycation,” or a vacation you take without leaving where you live.  It really is a great idea.  I figured that I would create a press release that dealt with the sports teams we have here in Jacksonville.  The Jacksonville Jaguars is where I thought I’d start, since I want to work in the world of football once I graduate.  I found this is to be a bit harder than I thought, mainly since there is a limited number of games in a year.  I then moved to the Jacksonville Suns because of the multitude of games they play, and a few of the awesome events they hold throughout the season.  The first thing I would suggest to the Suns, if I was to ever get a meeting, would be to create a new website purely for their website address.  If you click on the Suns link and look you’ll see why.

The main thing I’m having difficulty with is finding information regarding the psychographics of certain areas.  I can find demographic information just fine, but if anyone knows a great place for psychographic information, please share it.

Author: Travis Davidson

Growing up in Gainesville, FL around the timber investment and forestry industry, Travis Davidson understands the agricultural community along with the commitment and hard work it takes for a family business to be successful. Travis also understands the residential market in the North Central Florida area. As a graduate of the University of North Florida (UNF) in Jacksonville, Travis has a Bachelor of Science degree in Communications, with a focus in public relations and marketing. Throughout his years at UNF, Travis was an active member of the Public Relations Student Society of America and represented UNF at a Public Relations Society of America conference in Atlanta, GA.  Travis joined his family's businesses shortly after graduation. Travis is currently a Realtor, land manager and forestry operations supervisor, across North Florida, for United Country | Land & Lifestyle Properties and Columbia Timber Company. His father, Jib Davidson, is a Certified Forester and the experiences Travis has learned in land and forestry management has led him to improve several timber investment properties into productive projects for landowners. His experience has also helped many properties attract native vegetation and wildlife to residential, agricultural and natural properties alike. Travis is a member of the Gainesville-Alachua County Association of Realtors, Gainesville Chamber of Commerce and Florida Forestry Association where he earned the Master Logger designation. Travis is also an active communications committee member for the Florida Forestry Association.  Travis earned his rank of Eagle Scout while in the Boy Scouts of America and has become an avid outdoor enthusiast. Travis enjoys hiking, camping and spending time around a campfire with friends and family. His experiences in timber investments and real estate have built Travis' knowledge base and passion for agriculture and the outdoors that continue to grow more each day.

Leave a Reply

